One Night Abroad – Venice

Hi everyone! I’m Aspen, and today I am excited to show you what I would wear, do, and eat on a night abroad in Venice, Italy!

A few weeks ago, a translation software company, Smartling, had challenged me to form a suitable outfit for an evening abroad in the foreign city of my choice, as well as what I would do and eat whilst there. I’m not being paid to do this post, it just sounded like a good idea and something that I would like to do.

Without further ado, here are the things that I would wear, eat, and do on a night abroad in Venice!

What To Wear

outfit

To start off, I chose this dress by Chic Wish because of its simple shape, tulle skirt, and embellishments along the neckline to create the perfect silhouette. To accessorize, I skipped the necklace and jumped straight to a feathered silver ear cuff and leopard bracelet. Vampires are my first thought when it comes to Italy, so I chose this pair of blood red heels to keep the look classy and beautiful. Venice is home to the costume-laden Carnevale, explaining the addition of this beautiful, black, lace mask.

Mask – Simone Black Laser Cut Masquerade Stick Mask w/ Rhinestone Brooch, $25

Bracelet – Whiteout Snow Leopard Skinny Wrap Bracelet, $45

Dress – Crystal Embellished Prom Little Black Dress, $70

Ear cuff – Crystal – Embellished Ear Cuff, $25

Shoes – Jessica Simpson Cirrus shoes in Bava Red Microsuede, $80

Things to Do

A trip would be wasted without taking in the sights, so here are the things I would do on a dream trip to Venice!

 Piazza San Marco

1_l.20140917165937
Piazza San Marco, Venice, Italy

The Piazza San Marco (Saint Mark’s Plaza) is home to the Basilica di San Marco, Doge’s Palace, and the Torre dell’Orologio. These three sights are a major part of my wanderlust, and since they are all located around the same open space, it seems relatively easy to visit all three amazing structures within the same day.

Gondola ride on the Grand Canal

From-Venice-bridge-grand-canal
Grand Canal, Venice, Italy

A gondola ride is practically obligatory when visiting Venice. The classic, long and rounded boats are known for skimming the tops of the Venetian canals, journeys along the waterways and memorable moments with friends.

Bridge of Sighs

orvfLiGMJWL
Bridge of Sighs, Venice, Italy

The Bridge of Sighs is a small, limestone bridge where prisoners have historically taken their last look at Venice before beginning their prison sentence. Although this is a tiny bridge in the grand Venetian city, I think it would be interesting to see because of the sadness surrounding the structure.

Food

Rialto market

Rialto-bridge-market-Venice-Italy
Rialto Market, Venice, Italy

After doing some serious googling, I’ve concluded that open markets are pretty common in Italy. I would rather pick out my own food in an open space than ordering a meal at a restaurant anyday, so this would be the perfect option for me.

La Boutique del Gelato

Venice-Boutique-del-gelato
La Boutique del Gelato, Venice, Italy

After some fresh food from the market, gelato is obligatory to eat in Venice. Gelato is a specialty in the US, but  seems like what ice cream is to Americans, to Italians. I would choose either a fruity flavor or something with Nutella, because come on, it’s Nutella.

Overcoming language barriers

Learn the basics

Learn how to say phrases such as hello and goodbye, as well as please and thank you. People in a foreign country will treat you much better if you treat them with respect.

Bring a buddy

If you are clueless , bring a friend who speaks the language of the place you’re going. My mother helped me out everyday in Switzerland to order food and read signs, because nobody understands me when I speak German.

People Watch

One of the best ways to learn a new language is to hear the natives speaking it. Sit in a park and do some people watching to catch some syntax and pronounciation.

 I hope you’ve enjoyed reading tonight’s post, and don’t forget to like, comment, and follow!

Love you lots xoxo,

Aspen

Disclaimer: I do not own the pictures or music used in this post, and all rights go to their rightful owners. I am not affiliated with any of the brands, companies, artists or bands, mentioned in this post, nor is this post sponsored.

Leave a comment